Seven Quick Takes

1. Yes, I know, I know, I’m supposed to be offline this Lent. Sue me. I heard a great explination on the mortifications that we give ourselves for Lent, by the bishop in the Stubenville area (not sure if Stubenville is the name of the diocese or no, but I’ll just call it “Stubenvillish”) Basically, he explained that the whole purpose of giving something up is to draw us into a closer relationship with God. If its not doing that, then dump the practice, because its not working. Time offline? It certainly is bringing me closer to God, as I am filling my time that I would be online praying or reading my Bible, or even spending more time with my children or taking care of the house (egads! What a concept!), but I had a feverish baby today and that required a chunk of my time holding her and not moving, which led to my suggesting to the kids that they put on a short movie whilst I hung out in bed and tried to get her to sleep. I won’t tell you about the ridiculous movie on Lifetime that I watched, but let me tell you, after watching it, I’m homeschooling the kids until they’re at least 37.

2. Yep, feverish baby. 4 out of 6 kiddoes got the flu last week or two, and I thought we were done with this. Then Lilly slept through the night. Great, right? Then she was clingy. Then her mucky nose had to be sucked out. I forogt about her quriky gag reflex. This got her so worked up that she puked all over me. Twice. Motherhood ain’t for the faint of heart, eh? So, yes, we’ve been hanging out, and after a long nap this afternoon into evening, she woke up with a fever, but with some meds we brought it back down and she’s back to herself. Which reminds me, I need to give her some more water.

3. Speaking of herself, she’s talking. She says “boot” (mix of boot and butt) for book. Brilliant, I tell you.

4. I think I’ve decided I want to learn how to play the guitar. I’ve only taken 15 years to really hone in on this. I just have to figure out where to start. Any thoughts would be appreciated. 🙂

5. Oh. Yeah. Valentine’s day. So. Apparently, Valentine’s day is the new Halloween. At least, you’d think so, after seeing the cache my boys brought home yesterday from school. It was so bad, James actually skipped dinner because he was curled up on the couch with a stomach ache. I thought I was a cool mom, sending them in with valentines that had pencils or a small candy bar attached to it. Nope. One girl actually had these little red hearts that had her picture printed on the inside of them. Wow. Super cute award goes to the mom who turned lollipops into superheroes by adding a paper cape and mask. I’m willing to bet that was a Pintrest project. I was talking to my MIL while we were going through the goods, and I mentioned how lame mine were in comparison. When she said something about how I know in advance for next year, I just smiled. Yeah, um, about that….

6. I’m doing the 40 bags in 40 days challenge with my friend, Amy. (Hey, Amy!!) While I’ve got about a bag and a half done in reality, I’ve got TONS done in my head, as I’m going through the house mentally, trying to figure out how I”m going to do this. If I could actually bring on the whole “spirit of detachment” thing that this is supposed to inspire, I’d be in great shape. It seems to be bringing out my inner hoarder instead. Fabulous.

7. I’m gearing up to start yelling at some carpet manufacturers pretty soon about the crappy carpet I had installed last year. The inspector from the company came out and decided that the carpet showed normal wear and tear for a family. Really? After seven months, they expect their carpet to get matted and gross? I don’t call that normal, and I think some heads are going to roll. I’m not sure I want to detach from my flooring yet.

Well! Join Jen Fulwiler at Conversion Diary for more fun!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Quick Takes

  1. Torey says:

    Ah, the 40 bags in 40 days. I’m not sure I could ever do it. Every year I think about doing it, forget about it and then plan how I could maybe do it next year. Also, we are totally kindred spirits when it comes to decorating. In my head, I have planned and decorated most of the rooms in my house. In reality we have lived here 4 years and I’ve half-primed a kitchen (that was done last May) and I haven’t done anything since then. I totally stink.

  2. Michelle Hayden says:

    I’ve never heard of 40 bags in 40 days, but my husband rents a huge dumpster every once in a while and boy does he go to town! I have to hide anything that I don’t want thrown out! lol!!

Leave a Reply

