Daybook– “Is She Ever Going to Post Anything but a Daybook?” edition

Outside my window:: Sunny but chilly. This weather is all. over. the. place. It rained like crazy over the weekend, and that seemed to usher in the cold winds, but its green and pretty and good gracious, I’m talking about the weather!

I am thankful for:: Katie made her First Holy Communion this weekend! The Mass was so beautiful, and God is so good. I have to laugh at how He works things. Our church is pretty big, and we were about halfway back, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to see her receive, which was such a bummer. Enter Lilly, the fusspot. The last place she wanted to be was in our pew, and around the Concecration, we found ourselves in the cry room, where I realized I had a GREAT view and would be able to see her. She was so excited about receiving the Eucharist, and I hope that excitement stays with her every single time she approaches our Lord! Also, my mom! She flew in for the weekend for Katie’s First Holy Communion (and boy, are her arms tired!), and it was so nice to have her here for a few days. I missed my dad terribly, who isn’t well enough to make the trip down, but I’ll see him in a few weeks when we head north again.

I am thinking about:: sleep schedules and getting everyone down early and at relatively the same time. Yeah, about that, still not there. Ugh. We need a goooood nighttime routine. Any suggestions??

Learning all the time:: Back to the grind! We still have a lot of work to do, and then a short break when the boys are done with school. I’m hoping to take the kids on a field trip this week to pick strawberries!

From the kitchen:: Time to clean out the fridge and put together a shopping list.

I am creating:: Ugh. The tables need to be done, then I started a slipcover that needs to be finished. The fun part of creating has been sucked out by the requirement of finishing.

I’m working on:: keeping up with the house. Aaaand I just heard someone spill popcorn. I need to make sure they sweep it.

I am going:: to reorganize all the meds in the house. Its time to restock the Benadryll and Band-aids!

I am reading::  Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen.   I picked up the recommendation from Sarah at Amongst Lovely Things, and let me tell you, I’m loving the book.  Funny story, Alex saw it the day I got it and just looked quizzically at the cover for awhile, then asked why I would want to destroy someone’s imagination.  That made me smile.  The thing is, the book is written like that, so I have to keep stopping and reminding myself that he’s telling me not to do those things.  (note to self: less coffee, more sleep)

I had mentioned this book on Facebook last week and some people were interested in it.  I’d love to start up a discussion on Ye Olde Bloge sometime soon– any takers?

I am praying for:: The usual. 🙂  And wanting to pray more.

I am hearing::  The Wii.  We have a love/hate relationship.  And I’m hating it right now.

Around the house:: I’ve gotten a great headstart on things thanks to my mom’s help, and now I need to keep the momentum going!!

A few plans for the rest of the week::  The usual; allergy shots, karate, school…. we’re gearing up for the end of the school year!

 

Have a great week, friends, and hopefully, I’ll get some pictures going so this blog isn’t so darn boring! 😉

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daybook– “Is She Ever Going to Post Anything but a Daybook?” edition

  1. I’m a taker! Would love a discussion of Esolen’s book!

    Congrats to your little first communicant! Love that fresh joy.

  2. Helen Fullinwider says:

    Oh Anne! My Grace asked the same thing when she read the title of the book!

Leave a Reply

