And that, my friends, was a Monday

Yes.  I am grateful.

My family is healthy.  We have  roof over our heads.  No accidents, no deaths, no sickness, no biggies.

I am grateful.

And yet, I was looking for alcohol or chocolate or perhaps both by 10am this morning.

My dear brother once quipped, “The best laid plans of mice and men are crap.”  That’s how my morning started.  I had hopes.  High hopes.  Hopes of the highest sort!  Daily Mass kinda high hopes.

We all slept in.  I blame the kids and their charazy sleeping schedule last night.  They just didn’t.

My day began somewhere behind the eightball and ended up somewhere under the dart board.  So much to do, and I was walking around feeling like I had a sweater on my brain.  Not good when your brain itches, let me tell you.

Then, I had the “Revenge of the Three Year Old.”

If this kid wasn’t so darned cute ….., I just don’t know what.  Lets play a game, shall we?  I’d like to call it:

What did Ben do to drive Mommy a little more insane today?

A. try to climb over the banister in the upstairs hall which would have led to a two story drop?

B. squirt out a bunch of watercolor paints all over the learning room rug?

C. climb to the roof of the playset outside which would have led to a two story drop?

D. Sit on his little sister’s face on a bean bag chair?

E. Throw his father’s hammer down the sewer drain outside?

F.  All of the above.

 

If you answered “F”, ding ding ding ding ding!!!  You win a prize!!  Okay, really, it was me who won the prize, because this is the same kid who brought me the heads of half the tiger lilies in our yard (Lilly brought me the petals to the other half, I’m sure), a handful of rocks as I was pulling up from an excursion to the Wal of Mart that took about five years off my life, skipped around the pool in flippers no less that making me laugh so hard I thought it was like watching an SNL skit from the 90’s, and sat on my lap at bedtime for who knows how long, flipping through a book and smiling that amazing smile where one of his eyes crinkles up.

Sigh. All worth it.

And we’ll start all over again.  After I whisper a prayer of thanksgiving to God and Ben’s guardian angel and ask for continued protection because, man, we’re gonna need it!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And that, my friends, was a Monday

  1. Wendy in VA says:

    LOL! My Ben sounds a lot like your Ben and he’s made it to 13, so there’s hope. Gotta love those guardian angels. :o)

Leave a Reply

