The day that just went BLECH.

Permission to kvetch? Thanks.

It was one of those days. From early on until they were all asleep, it just…. ugh.

I won’t bore you with details, but I fumed, I yelled, I was yucky mommy.

Blech.

I saw things heading downhill first thing this morning, so I tried to do some damage control. I sat in the “Happy Chair” (I had forgotten about this, but we did this for awhile when the big boys were little– you sit in the Happy Chair until you’re happy again), pulled out my Bible and started reading. I try to read the chapter from Proverbs that corresponds to the day of the month.

That means I had the Proverbs 31 lady in my face in all her fine linen and purple. Show off.

I couldn’t consider a field before buying it because I still had many, many pots in the sink I had to consider before scrubbing and getting myself all wet.

See? God has a sense of humor. Think of a grandpa who’s trying to teach you a valuable lesson, sitting back and chuckling to himself as you go about the whole thing all. wrong.

After sending off an impassioned plea, (“What do You want of me????????) I hit the day with both fists and ended the day with a black eye (figuratively). I even tried to salvage things by taking the kids to the park after dinner and wouldn’t you know, it started raining once we got out of the car. It was so bad, even Lilly was complaining. And she’ still can barely talk.

We got home, got the kids to bed, and I finally begin to relax. For awhile, I tired to figure out what was the impetus for today’s meltdown a la mama, but I was coming up empty. Messy kitchen? Um, everyday. Fighting kids? Um, everyday. I could go on, but like I said, I don’t want to bore you.

Of course, there was that nagging, “Hey, Anne? You could try praying a bit more” voice in the back of my head, but I kept swatting at it like a mosquito. I know I need to pray more, but sometimes, it feels like a chore, and I have a really hard time getting around that. Yes, prayer when you don’t want to is the best prayer there is, but there’s that whole “I’m selfish” thing that’s holding me back. And we all know how well that serves us, eh?

So, I’m surfing tonight. Then, I find this at I Take Joy.

Hook, line and sinker. She nailed it.

Sally Clarkson isn’t saying anything new here. However, the WAY she put it made all the difference. What goes in, must come out. If I watch it, read it, surf it, spend time with it, it will come back out of me in my words, actions, attitude.

Go ahead and read her words, they’re far more eloquent than mine. But I’m going to make some serious considerations on how I’m spending my time. Not just cutting things out, but deliberately adding others in.

Okay! Maybe tomorrow I’ll be more on my game. I’ll let you know. 🙂

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

