Cover me– I’m going in….

After much soul searching, thinking, FB inquiring, and bouts of “OHMYGOSHIMSOSICKOFALLOURSTUFFIJUSTWANTTOTHROWITALLINTHETRASHNOW!!!!!!!”, I’ve made a decision.

We’re going minimalist.

Kids first.

Think of it as an elimination diet for the soul.

These kids have been fighting over every last thing in this house, so its disappearing for awhile.

I figure they need:
1. Food
2. Clothing
3. A bed
4. prayer time
5. schoolwork
6. chores
7. outside playtime

For now, that’s it. And please don’t give me the “but the children need toys to learn” business right now because I just gashed my leg on the kickstand of my bike that someone knocked over in the garage but didn’t bother to pick up and then I stepped on a sewing needle in my daughter’s room that was STUCK in my foot.

I’m just glad I had a tetanus shot a few years ago.

I’ve got a LOOOONG weekend ahead of me, but this. will. get. done. In fact, that’s why I’m putting it on the blog. I need some accountability. And I’ll let you know how my little social experiment goes. From what I’ve heard, it should go well. I’ll let you know.

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cover me– I’m going in….

  1. Well, our parents, grandparents, and great-greats all seemed to grow up just fine without a warehouse worth of toys, so I think you’re on to something here, Anne! And if you also tell them you love them every day, hug them all the time, and build them up with positive encouragement, they’ll be even better off then we are (or are trying to be). 😉 Rock on!

Leave a Reply

