7 Quick Takes

Joining Jen and the gang at Conversion Diary, as per request……

 

I’ll be running through with random thought throughout the day.  think of it as a mini “Day in the Life”…..
1.  What is the proper way to cut a cantaloupe?  i can cut a mean pineapple and a super nice mango, but i can’t cut a cantelope without it taking twenty five minutes or messing up half the kitchen.  anybody?

2.  While trying to have a stern discussion with a child just now that I am quite certain that I haven’t named any of  my children “stupid butthead” and therefore should never hear of any of them being called such, I heard a distinctive drip, drip, drip coming from the living room.  As you may well know, there should NEVER be a distinctive drip, drip, drip sound coming from a living room.  After a little investigation, I realized that someone had poured their drink over the keys to the piano and it was dripping out the bottom onto the carpet.

That is why we don’t buy anything we can’t stand to see destroyed.  It is also why I’m glad we have a free hand me down piano that I don’t care about.

3. I beginning to think that St. Anthony has alterior motives. Like this stinking piece of paper I can’t find. I’m thinking he’s saying to me, “Yes, my child, I’d be happy to help you. Its in the office. However, you’re going to have to clean up the hot mess that it is in there, because I’m going to make sure that the VERY LAST PEICE OF PAPER you touch is the one you’re looking for. And don’t forget to feed my poor. :)”

I think he’s still waiting for me to make good on a big promise I made to him eight years ago on the day of Katie’s baptism when I couldn’t find our Christening gown. I need to set up an installment plan with him.

4. I am seriously considering renaming my two youngest “Adam and Eve” because they are quite often running around the house totally naked and completely unashamed.

5. Why I love six year old boys: Will just explained his idea for a fart-powered jet pack fueled by bean burritos.

aaaaaaand my readership just dropped by half.

6. Have you ever read Skippy John Jones?? You absolutely must, blog-a-reader-rito!! Its a laugh a minute, and your kids will love you for reading it with an authentic Spanish accent. Or as bad a fake Spanish accent you can muster, amigo.

7. Okay, your turn! (shameless beg for comments, wink, wink)– what types of posts would you like to see here? Any favorites in the past you’d like to see me do again (another day-in-the-life, anyone?)?

Have a great weekend, everyone. Its gonna be busy at the nuthouse, as usual!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 7 Quick Takes

  1. How about a segment called “The World According to….(fill in name of child)” — I’d love hearing their perspective on things!

  2. Devin says:

    I want to read about whatever you want to talk about, Anne. It’s always entertaining to read your blog!

  3. Kathryn Biel says:

    Anne,

    I love hearing how you get through your day, I only have 1/3 of the kids you do, and I happily ship them off daily. I don’t know how you have not pulled every last strand of hair out (hmmm…hair appears to be falling out, kids are home. Must ponder that one). I just enjoy your posts, fart jokes and all (you do have 4 boys, although in this house, the girl is as bad, if not worse than the boy about that).

    Still, since we’re hundreds of miles apart, and have not managed to see each other since before junior year, it makes me feel like you’re back in my life, and I’ve missed you. Whatever ramblings you post are just fine. We’re moms now. Let’s face it, any phone conversation would be no less random, or organized. At least this way, it’s not interrupted by young people yelling, screaming, and that mysterious dripping sound.

    • I’ve missed you, too, Kate! It has been so much fun catching up and seeing what you’ve been up to all these years! And while I still have my hair, its all turning gray…… 😉

  4. Kathy@9Peas says:

    I enjoy hearing about your day. As to the cantaloupe, I got nothing. I seriously wonder if I need a hazmat team in my kitchen after slicing one up.

  5. Yvonne says:

    As for the “tantalope” cutting a pro chef friend of mine says the best way to get the most fruit is to cut/peel the rind off. I know of no such magic peelers to do such a thing but I use a sharp knife and carve it off. Still messy there’s no way around it with this fruit but it does make cutting pieces easier once the rind is gone.

    How about you write something about the 75 uses for duct tape? Oh wait….your boys already know that! lol!

  6. Jenny says:

    #3 completely cracked me up! I don’t know how I would function without his help every single day. He finds sippy cups with rotten milk rolled under the seats in the car, walmart bags with pee diapers in the same place, the green marker the baby has colored all over his hands with but there’s no sign of a marker anywhere…

  7. Torey says:

    Mango, o mango. Had to write that. Not sure about a cantaloupe. I always just cut it like a watermelon, in half, scoop out the seeds, slice and then cut rind off the slices. My niece loves Skippy John Jones. I think there is an audio recording of it as well somewhere that is hilarious. And finally, I’ll read whatever you want to write.

  8. Angela says:

    I cut my cantaloupe the same as you, Torey, and recently I’ve taken to scoring it in cubes after scooping out the seeds and before slicing and cutting off the rinds.

    And, not only did I not stop reading after #5, I giggled a little, too. Should I be embarrassed? Please do keep writing, Anne!

Leave a Reply

