A Perfect Beginning to Our Perfect Homeschool

Well, we’re back to school now!  And in true Anne fashion, I sent my Letter of Intent to the county almost two weeks late.  At least its way earlier than I did last year, but in babies and bureaucrats,  late is late, right?  😉  

This was our first official “we’re going to sit and do every single subject until I’m blue in the face” day and, it was marvelous.  Right?  I think I’m supposed to say something like this:

 

“Today, my little scholars were so excited to begin formal academics around our dining room table once more.  We got a wee bit of a late start, because it took a smidge longer than I had expected to finish cooking breakfast.  

I made a sweet and savory quinoa and flax breakfast cereal in the crock pot.  We’ve been purchasing organic quinoa by the bushel from a family owned business in Nicuragua for the past six months, and let me tell you, it is far superior to the store bought that we find in our local overpriced, only organic supermarket.  Truth be told, we did have some snags getting it through customs the first few months, but I do believe that the nutritional value of this super grain is worth the investment of time and headache.  

I could tell right away when our six year old sat down to his History of 16th Century Czechoslovakian Literature work that his mind had truly been fed by the proteins of the quinoa, helping him keep concentration and added to his mental agility.  Allow me to give you an example.  Over a quick lunch of homemade, free range ham and raw milk havarati cheese on sourdough bread we bake each morning (from a mother we purchased from San Francisco) with bean sprouts, oven roasted peppers from our garden this summer and reverse osmosis water, Will made the rather astute observation that the selection he read from his text on the History of 16th Century Czechoslovakian Literature had similar undertones as the 12 Century Aborigini cave dwelling art that we studied two years ago.  He contends that both tell of a longing for the Divine while the author (or picture maker, as the case may be)  is wrestling with his own shortcomings that he is trying so hard to overcome.

I have to say, while I was surprised to hear his opinion on this, I had to disagree, considering the self-assuradness of the cave dweller’s art, but when I discussed this with my dear husband over fair-trade tea and homemade scones I purchased from the farmer’s market yesterday (I would have made my own, but I ran out of time this morning, having to shear our alpacas myself at 5:30 this morning.  I felt it was important for the children to sleep in on the first day, setting a restful tone to their studies.  We simply can’t make a habit of getting up at 6am each day, however, as nothing will get done around here!  A mother does have to be productive after all!)

What was I saying? Oh yes, my dear husband very gently reminded me that Will DID score perfectly on his PSAT’s last year, and that I should probably think his reasoning through again.  After “noodling it” for forty five minutes, I decided that yes, my dear child was correct in this instance.  I did, however, continue to banter with my husband over our second cup, because keeping things fun and flirty certainly is the secret to a happy marriage, am I right, girls? (wink)”

 

Okay, I have to stop here because I”m making myself sick.  In truth, we had a generally “okay” day.  As I explained to The Hubs, its much like going to a trainer for the first time.  Your trainer is pretty much going to stand over you, pick you up and make you work over and over and over and its going to hurt, but after doing it a few times, you’ll get some muscle memory and just start going with it.  And that’s what I’m hoping for!  

Let’s put it this way:  we got through almost all subjects, a certain child may have gotten the impression that his bad conversational habits (ahem) are not going to be tolerated any longer, our AC got repaired, the AC guy didn’t kill himself tripping over the stuff in the basement on the way to the HVAC unit, and the alpacas got a shearing.

Okay, we don’t have alpacas.  We do have a couple of renegade fruit flies, however, and maybe the kids can have them as pets?  Or science experiments?

 

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

