Things I’ve Learned this August Vol. 1

That’s right, numero uno!  I’ve decided to link up with Emily Freeman at Chatting at the Sky  with her monthly installments of “Things I’ve learned.”  I realized, its actually kind of difficult think of some concrete things, but hopefully, I’ll be able to keep this in mind throughout the months to come, and see what jumps out at me as  I learn them!

1.  I am a writer.  Okay, this is a biggie, and I apologize for hitting hard on the melodramatic right up front.  It hit me square between the eyes a couple of weeks ago that I don’t hope to be a writer, I don’t want to be a writer, I’m not looking at time ahead of me someday when I might become a writer…. I AM a writer.  It is who I am, its in my bones, its why my fingers itch when I feel something swelling up in my soul, and why I have a strange fascination with pens and brand new notebooks.  Now, this isn’t to say I’m an accomplished writer, or even a good writer, let alone a regular writer, but….BUT…..I AM a writer.  And for me to continue to deny that this is a very integral part of who I am is to fuel the fire of burnout that has been slowly creeping in towards me for years.  There are things that need to be done, and time must be made for them.  Like exercise, right?  (I know, I know.)   I do believe that everyone has something that is their… I hate to say “creative outlet”….. creativeness?  There is something in everyone that helps them create something beautiful, something they use to makes sense of the world around them, something to bring joy to another’s heart.  This “thing” that everyone has, is such an important link back to our Creator, for we are created in His Image and Likeness, right?  He gave each of us the ability to create.  It might not look like traditional “art” to those looking from the outside, but I’ve seen art in mathematics and creativity in robotics and beauty in science.  We all have it.  If you feel like there’s a part of you that is missing, or has fallen by the wayside, I would love to encourage you to spend some time thinking about what your passion in life is.  I bet its been there for as long as you can remember!  See how (not if) you can work it back into your life as you are living now.  The people whom you love and love you will be better served by a more complete version of you.  I’m really looking forward to putting more time towards my craft, and I’d love to hear what you feel you may have been neglecting and hope to rediscover about yourself!

when boys lunge at each other, bad things happen.

when boys lunge at each other, bad things happen.

2. I actually CAN live without technology….but I’m not crazy about it.  A couple of months ago, I lost my cell phone.  Thankfully, our plan was nearly done, so we got new ones.  Last week or so ago, I lost my new cell phone.  I found them both within an hour’s time yesterday(Truth be told, I also told St. Anthony there was a $20 in it for him, and I hadn’t had any cash on me in awhile.  About the exact time the Hubs was getting cash for me for the week, I found the second phone. Have I mentioned that I don’t believe in consequences? 😉 )   My laptop also went in to be “serviced” which took a good week, and I have decided that while social media might not be the worst thing in the world, I have to SERIOUSLY curtail it.  Everyone is better off for it.

Alex in his glasses.  So, so handsome!

Alex in his glasses. So, so handsome!

3.  Its difficult to type when someone dumps juice on your laptop.   Even if its dry. I’m finding myself having to PUNCH some of these keys and its really wearing on my patience.  Any advice on how to clear this up would be most appreciated!

NOT a current picture-- that belly is now almost two years old and better be asleep upstairs!

NOT a current picture– that belly is now almost two years old and better be asleep upstairs!

4.  Getting photos onto Ye Olde Bloge is easier than I thought.  However, getting “current”  photos isn’t as easy as you thought.  See above….

I think this is good for now! Have a wonderful Labor Day, folks. Hopefully, my neighbors won’t send off too many illegal fireworks.  Drives me nuts, I tell ya!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Things I've Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I’ve Learned this August Vol. 1

  1. Devin says:

    This is GREAT, Anne. I agree – we all need a creative outlet, and I’m glad writing is yours so I can read it!

  2. CrazyCatholicMama says:

    Hopping over from Emily’s to leave you some love =) I love your #1 – it’s so, so true. When we write, we are writers … plain and simple. Also, I’m very happy to have found a fellow Catholic Mama blog – grace and blessings to you, dear sister in Christ!

  3. I just love #1! I can totally relate. It’s taken me forever to just say “I’m a writer” without feeling like I don’t deserve to give myself that title. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

