Five Minute Friday– Red

My bathroom used to be red.  Really, it was called “rhubarb,” and it was an intense, deep, pinky red.  Overpowering, saturating, red.

I picked it out when I was pregnant.   I don’t recommend picking out paint colors when your hormones are playing tricks with your mind.

That was over eight years ago. A couple of years ago, I repainted the bathroom in a calm, soothing blue.   A blue that sets well against white, is crisp and makes my shoulders relax when I see it.

Katie asked me the other day why the bathroom is no longer red.  As it turns out, she really likes the red.  And for that matter, really doesn’t care for the blue.

Mommy guilt. Again.  Over the paint in my powder room?

It never ceases to amaze me how can take anything the kids say and twist it into a treaties on what a bad mother I am. Right down to saying no to another red powder room.

But, we can paint her room.  I’d love to sway her in the direction of not painting the entire room in hot pink, but we’ll see how it goes. I had my own ideas when I did my bedroom in an ivy motif when I was in high school.  It didn’t quite fly with my mother’s ideas.

These things never do.

***************************************************************

Linking up with Lisa Jo and the others participating in Five Minute Fridays.

 

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in 5 minute friday, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five Minute Friday– Red

  1. So, so, so true “It never ceases to amaze me how can take anything the kids say and twist it into a treaties on what a bad mother…” I am so guilty of this. The sweet innocent voice that rings such negative thoughts in our minds and how it weighs on our hearts. Blessings friend

  2. Kathryn Biel says:

    OMG, I remember all that ivy wallpaper!

  3. Linnea says:

    hopping over from FMF! Fun to read about regrettable paint colors – we’re going through that here with our new house, too! Oh, is it ever difficult to pick just the right shade. 🙂

  4. I think I still have some rhubarb walls left over from another decade. Love the idea of some cool blue. This is my first visit here and I love this glimpse into your family. Mom guilt is over rated- I’m all for grace instead 🙂 Happy FMF!

  5. Jessica says:

    its amazing what color does to a room and what kids remember and take in. kids are like sponges, its nuts how much they see and retain.

    Stopping by from FMF.

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Jessica
    http://mybeautifulli.blogspot.com/2013/09/five-minute-friday-red.html

Leave a Reply

