Sunday Evening Daybook

Outside my window::

It is dark.  Its the season of cold, windy, dark nights.  I’m slightly nostalgic about it, until I go outside and start shivering.

In my prayers::

Everyone in the Philippines, and for all those who have died.  Eternal rest, grant unto them, O Lord….

Giving thanks::

for these nutty kids 🙂

P1000982

I am thinking about::

getting said nuts on a real schedule, at least at bedtime.  Mamma and Pappa need some downtime and a decent bedtime!

In the schoolroom::

We’re slogging along, and I wish it wasn’t such WORK.  Work, I can take, pulling teeth, I’d rather not.  Now that I’ve got a laptop again, I can print up some real work lists again, and everyone seems to do better when they can cross off finished work.  Fancy that.

P1000967

From the kitchen::

We’re gluten free.  Again.  Lilly is sporting a nasty diaper rash that seems to go away when she stops eating gluten and magically reappears when she accidentally eats it.  And the good dr. poo pooed my idea of the elimination diet because it’s too hard with little kids.  Despite the fact that we were GF for years.  With little kids.  At birthday parties and everything.  Harumph.

I am creating::

I’m looking at all these beautiful knitted creations all over the web, and I’m getting inspired.  If I have any needles that haven’t been bent by little boys who thought they were swords, I might just try making a scarf for myself!  Really, Anne, let’s not get carried away, here….

 

P1000986

I am reading::

Well, just finished reading Peter Walsh’s Its All Too Much.  Trying to get inspired again.  Yep, I’m that predictable and boring.

I’m also working my way through 33 Days to Morning Glory. I’ve had several people over the years at my parish hand me a book for the Louis de Montefort Consecration to Mary.  Now, if you’re from my parish, you’re laughing, because you’ve been, ahem, approached by someone at our church for this, too, so its not like I’m being singled out or anything.  However, I feel like its high time, and The Hubs did this eons ago, and its been in the back of my mind for quite some time.  Until now.

On the TV::

Ha!  Betcha never saw this on a daybook before!  We’ve got our newest favorite show on right now, Knife Fight, on the Esquire Channel. Its awesome.  A chef closes his restaurant for the night, and opens it to a closed group where he pits two chefs against each other with a couple of secret ingredients, a full kitchen and an hour to make whatever they want.  Love it.  What I like so much about it, is that the chefs actually respect each other, and they only win bragging rights.  Better than the competitions on the Food Network, in my opinion.

P1000944

Our awesome outing this week::

A hike!  The Hubs found this place about 40 minutes from our house.  It was termed a “moderate hike, great for families,” and it turned out to be an almost three mile, mostly uphill, zig zaggy hike through the forest with a couple of run down, two hundred year-old houses late enough in the afternoon that I was afraid we were going to run out of daylight.  Now, THAT’s what memories are made of, folks!

Have a great week, friends!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Evening Daybook

  1. Torey says:

    I have that book “It’s All Too Much”. Unfortunately, it’s been too much work to even read it. 🙂 We have been totally GF for 5 years (only Joe eats gluten sometimes, but I cook GF all the time). As you know, it isn’t nearly as hard as people think it is. . . and frankly once you get used to it, it’s almost easier b/c there are just so many things you don’t buy (like baked goods).

Leave a Reply

