Probably One of the Worse New Year’s Posts You’ll Read this Year

Wow.  How’s that for a catchy title?  Betcha can’t wait to get to through this one!

I’ve seen many an “end of year” posts running around the blogosphere lately, and I felt I’d be remiss if I didn’t add my own two cents.

1.  Year in Review. 

Um, yeah. Lets see, I’m not great about posting pictures on ye olde bloge, so I can’t have a good picture review post for you.  Here’s the basics, that I can remember off the top of my head.

– We started the year with my two oldest boys in school and both they and I wanted. out.  The Hubs thought it was important for them to finish the year, and they did, and I did, and I’ve got them home again. 

– Um, we’ll fast forward to summer when we swam and played outside and I didn’t feel quite so cooped up as I do now in the winter (maybe that’s why I’m so moody?).

– September, and back to school at home. 

-October, and an awesome trip to Disney for the first time, followed by week at the beach to recover.

-November, found out we’re expecting number 7, and went up to NY for Thanksgiving

-December, which was busy and crazy.  Started with our anniversary, Advent hit hard, my father passed away on the 13th, and we went back to NY for the week for his funeral.  Christmas was a bit rushed, and I”m sitting around this house, hating the weather, hating the clutter and wanting something to shake things up.  Been dealing with some fun stomach issues which hasn’t helped but I’m out of the first trimester so I’m feeling better in that respect!

 

Wow.  Sorry.  That was depressing.  Moving on…

 

Next year’s resolutions?

Have you ever noticed that your New Year’s resolutions tend to be the same year after year?  Granted, losing weight is not top on my list this year (though I am hoping to lose a bunch in the summer 😉 ), but the organizing and wanting to take better care of myself top the list.  Again.  

Rather than get allow myself to become discouraged already, I’m looking at it a little differently.  I looked at the bottom line of WHY I’m not achieving my goals.  When I’m honest with myself, I realize that there is one single, solitary thing missing from my grand plans.  Whether its homeschooling plans, sprucing up the house, disciplining the kids, cleaning or organizing….. there is one important element missing from all of it that I fail to do.

I have to actually get up and do it, even if I don’t want to.  And then, I have to finish what I start, even if I don’t want to.

That’s it.  Pretty simple, right?  Too bad overcoming inertia, even spiritual or mental inertia, is so darn difficult.  I have to remind myself that there have been plenty of times when I have overcome my own laziness, and not only started doing something important, but also pushed through and finished when I didn’t want to.  Heck, pregnancy and childbirth!  There’s two things that are long, painful and not always that much fun, but darn its good to finish!!  (okay, I didn’t have much choice, and I remember being pregnant with James and just crying to The Hubs that I wanted to “take off” the pregnancy.  I made it, though!)

 

I’m reminded of this quote from Bl. Jose Marie Escriva, “Do you really want to be a saint? Carry out the little duty of each moment: do what you ought and concentrate on what you are doing.”  (The Way, 815)  So much of what I want to do, I’m supposed to do already!  Hopefully this quote will help me keep going.

Well, I’ve got some cleaning and cooking done for this evening, so I’m going to sign off for now.  I hope you all have a wonderful, blessed new year!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

