An Ode to the Cold

As I sit here, a little after 7pm, with the kids playing on the Wii and The Hubs on his iPad and me trying to craft the first of my many fabo posts for months to come, dark as dark outside, all I can think is…..

I hate winter.

Like, hate.  HATE hate.  You know that first snow you look forward to, and how you stand at the window in the evening, sighing over a cup of tea as you admire the soft whiteness that covers the lights in your neighborhood and the hush that comes over the land as snow has its own beautiful sound of nothing that it makes as it drifts, flake by flake, to cover the earth?

Image

(apparently, we tried to fry an egg in the cul-de-sac last summer.  Can’t do that now.  Too cold)

Its so gone.  And I’m so over it.  And its dark and dreary and cold and gray and cold and have I mentioned that its cold???

I don’t like cold. 

I hate it so much, that last year, as spring sprung around here with all its colorful lovliness, all I could think was, “Winter will be here in seven months.”  (depressing, yes?)

Image

(you can’t go to the pool now.  Because its cold.  The kids have asked as we drive by.  And we have to say no.  Because its cold.)

And yeeeeeesssss, I know that some of you would gnaw off your left arm for 37 degree weather, and yeeeeeessssss, I know I’ll be complaining in six months when temps tip over 100 degrees with crazy humidity and you can’t even go to the pool because it hasn’t rained in weeks and the pool water is haaaaat…..

But for now…. I Hate Winter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

