Mommy-venting.

Please forgive me, I’m about to vent.

Big time.

I’m considering researching properties in Aruba.  Or Florida.  Or anywhere else that doesn’t get cold and snowy and its not cruel to insist that your children spend more than 3.2 minutes outside.  At least, in the kids’ eyes.

They’re at each other’s throats. Now, that’s not news, but its driving me even more insane (if even possible) than usual, and after spending a teary 10minutes on the phone with my mom, she insisted on what should be standard proceedure for snow:

Send. them. out. side.

I’ve just spent the better part of an hour and a quarter doing that.  Oldest runs out, I yell out to him to get back inside because only a jacket does not snowgear make.  Second oldest?  Stopped so that he’s wearing socks.  Its 22, folks, and I want them suited up well and warm to keep them out there.  Third oldest manages to get herself together and out the door.

That leaves me with the bottom three: 6, 4 and 2. You know where I’m going with this, don’t you?

Six year old insists on wearing sneakers, we insist on boots.  Complies far more easily than the four year old who we literally had to tackle in the hallway in an effort to get him to wear a pair of matching boots, not a boot and sneaker. Notice after he’s got his coat on and trying to get his mittens on that his snowpants are on backwards and unzipped, and this must be remedied if we want to maximize outside time….

Trying to dress semi-nude 2 year old during this whole process…. we’re out of diapers… can’t find pants for her ANYWHERE….here’s a cloth diaper, where’s the insert…. looks like she’s peed on the floor already, so maybe she’ll be fine while she’s outside…..trying to squeeze her into her snow boots, encouraging her to, “push! you can do it!” having flash forwards to when she’ll be birthing her own and I”ll probably be banished from her life by then because who wants psycho mom in your life……

All the while…. 1,2, and 3 keep coming back in and we catch them in mid-action of underessing themselves from playing outside.  Exucses include, but are not limited to, “its too cold, my jacket arms are too short, I’m only wearing a T-shirt under my coat (I did warn him against that, didn’t I?????),I’ve got snow in my clothes, its too cold, How can you expect us to stay out there, etc., etc. ad naseum…..”

I caved.  After an hour and a half of fighting an uphill battle, I said, fine.  Stay inside.  But go downstairs to the basement and don’t. come. up.

I threw in “and you can pick it up while you’re down there, too” for good measure, but I’m not to optomistic on that one.

Belive it or not, this isn’t the vent that was going through my head originally.  It was going to be worse. But I’ll be honest about this.  I”m a little tired of, “of course my life isn’t sunshine and roses” on the blogs.  “I have a lot of laundry to do” does not an honest post about mommydom make.  I get that no one want to be brutaly honest about thier shortcomings in public, but I’m afraid that’s adding to great divide among moms.

I’m a mess.  My kids are a mess.  Together, we’re all a mess.  And, yes, I know, God can and will take our mess and make something beautiful out of it, but at the moment, I don’t see any of that, and it gets dishearting.

We’re fine.  Its just tough.  Really, really, really tough.  And if you’re having a tough day, week, month, year, years, too, I just want you to know that you’re not the only one.

And if anyone dares to tell me to enjoy them because they grow up so fast, duck.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  🙂

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mommy-venting.

  1. reesab says:

    Love it Anne! Vent away. I think the reason I haven’t posted in a while is because I didn’t want people to think I just complain all the time. Your vent was a happy, comical one and I enjoyed it 🙂 None of us are perfect and life is hard with little ones. You’re doing a great job. Chin up 🙂

  2. ElisaF says:

    Love it…sounds like how my day went yesterday…took longer to get my kids dresses then what they were out there and by the time I had the last one ready the older ones didn’t want to take her back out!! I’m just happy I’m not the only one who is having homicidal thoughts 😉

  3. Christine Golden says:

    Anne – you must read Thomas’ snowsuit – Robert Munsch! Keep pluggin’ sister. After all – what else will they have to talk about in the next 30 years of therapy? 🙂 Love you!

  4. Kathryn Biel says:

    We all need a good vent, especially when we have those days. And we all have them, and if someone says they don’t, then they are lying. In show of support for you, I shall consume the wine you need on a day like today. Please consume my share of chocolate and we’ll call it even.

  5. Torey says:

    I feel like for me it’s not just days, weeks or years but my entire life.

  6. Colby says:

    Anne, thank you, just THANK YOU for this post. You verbalized exactly what I’m experiencing, but in a much more humorous, well-crafted way. You do have a way with words, I have to tell you. My children are tired of my telling them to be quiet (they’ve been bouncing off the walls and emitting high pitched noises.) Did I mention that I’m high strung and can only take so much? Well, I’ll stop venting now. Again, thank you for telling it like it is! -Colby

    • Colby, you are HUMAN and can only take so much! 🙂 Thank you so much for your sweet comments– this winter has been really tough on us all, moms and kids. Today, I was trying to figure out where I could take them out to with the least likelihood of everyone catching something. We stayed home. In the end, we’re watching waaaay too much TV, but we’ll make it. 😉

Leave a Reply

