40 in 40 Update

Hopefully, neither my drive to get rid of 40 bags of stuff in 40 days, nor my idea to give you an update on my project each Thursday falls by the wayside like 7 Posts in 7 Days. I guess I just have to accept that I”m really not perfect. Sigh.  😉

So, here we are!  Two days into Lent, and so far, going strong (on the bags at least).  The kids have been changing their minds almost on an hourly basis about what they’re going to give up, and at this rate, if I stick with FB, I’ll be in good shape.  I’ve missed checking it these past few days, but honestly, I really don’t miss “it.”  This may be one I stick with, and happily.  I just don’t like the grip it had on me to constantly check it, and for the few things on it that I was genuinley interested in, I feel like all the bad parts just make it so that its not worth it.  That’s why I’ll stay here!  Also, I was thinking yesterday that I should really try to limit my own surfing (no, I”m not working on this at 9am while a few kids are playing Wii…..).  A few things to think about….

Back to the bags!  I took a tip from Sarah at Clover Lane and wrote out a list of 40 areas to go through and purge.

IMG_20140306_103510_304

Do note that days 26-40 all pertain to the exact same location– the basement.  That should give you some idea of how bad it is down there.  Maybe I’ll put in a before picture.  I”m not sure if humility is on my list of “things I need to work on this Lent” or not.  I”ll let you know.

So far, I’ve gotten the kids’ clothes organized and purged of “extras”(that was my headstart on Tuesday), and then this morning, I threw on Little Einsteins for half an hour and tackled my dresser.  That was tough.  Its amazing how easy it is to throw some stuff out, but then I start to feel guilty about spending money on things that I rarely wear.  Then I try to caluclate just how soon I “might” be able to wear something, based on the fact that I”m only halfway through this pregnancy, then I”ll have to lose weight… then I say to heck with it and throw it in the bag.

IMG_20140306_081704_633

(The finished product– a really cleared out dresser!!)

I don’t know about you, but I usually start a decluttering project with great enthusiasm and then get stuck by the “stuff” and find myself hanging on to everything.  I guess this would be the perfect time to walk away from the project for a few minutes, get some perspective, and come back to it? I find that Peter Walsh’s method works really well here.  He suggests, before you even tackle the decluttering, that you look at each room, decide what does/is going to happen there, and ANYTHING that doesn’t fit those categories must go.  I have to tell you, it worked wonders on my bedroom (though I do need to do some fine tuning as my sewing machine replaced my laptop, but I have NO place to store it at the moment.  I haven’t decluttered the closet yet!), so I need to keep that trick in mind when I go on to my next projects.  For instance, today I want to tackle the learning room, since its a little high on the priority list (being a homeschooling family and all…..)

I must say, the sparser this house is, the better it feels.  We’ve been doing much better about keeping the kitchen clean every night, and keeping up with it each day.  I love the feeling of a cleaner house, and not just stuff “put away”, because it always seems to come back out.  Detachment is a good thing. 🙂

IMG_20140306_081557_189

Bag count: 3

Your turn!  I’d love to have you link up your blog (and if you don’t have one, do tell us how you are doing in the comments.)  Please remember to link directly to your post, and not the main page of your blog, and please refer back to my blog in your post.  Happy purging!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in 40 Bags in 40 Days, organizing, simple living, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 40 in 40 Update

  1. Torey says:

    I had just finished my comment on your previous post when you added this one! I looked at your list before I read your post and at first I thought your l l l meant you had one hundred and eleven bags and I was thinking “NO WAY!” Glad to see it was actually 3. I feel better now. I haven’t actually finished any of my Peter Walsh books, so any time you want to sprinkle in his words of wisdom I’m all ears. I need all the advice I can get! I probably should make a list of all the areas I want to tackle because right now I’m just thinking about them and have to keep reminding myself what I want to do. 🙂

    • I found that having a list of small, manageable areas keep it from being overwhelming. Just so you know, when I wrote “family room”, that’s not overwhelming because I did a major purge on it several weeks ago, and I’d be very surprised if I find anything to get rid of in there. Same with the powder room– there’s nothing in there. The need for a good scrubbing? That’s a totally different story. 🙂

  2. Torey says:

    Yes, maybe after we finish the 40 bags in 40 days we should do a spring cleaning of 40 areas. I never actually get to the cleaning part since I’m always just trying to put things away!

Leave a Reply

