Weekend Musings

I love days like yesterday.  Days that are busy, but not crazy busy, just filled with things you love to do.

Leading up to the weekend, we had a loooong, busy list of things to do, but as I mentioned on Friday, we had a stomach bug hit the family, so we started ditching plans left and right.  Basically, we had way too much on our plate.  However, we had been doing well for about 48 hours, and we decided to tempt fate and go for it.

First off, The Hubs took James to a karate lesson with the other three big ones, while I took the two littles to buy some sneakers for several of them, and hit BJ’s for the week.  I’ve decided that going to BJ’s is akin to going to the center square because I always run into at least 2 or 3 people I know.  A full cart later, we flew home to get the groceries in the fridge so we could surprise the kids.

We don’t go to the movies much because, well, six kids.  Actually, I’m kind of glad, because when we do go, its a real treat, not just another run of the mill thing.

Guess what we saw?

The Lego Movie (2014) Poster

So, so cute.  The kids loved it, we loved it, Lilly didn’t sleep through too much of it, and the sweetest thing was how appreciative the kids were.  I think Katie hugged me three times.  Totally worth the treat. 😉

We also headed out to confessions, but we had about an hour before they started, so we headed out to a local pond/park.  It was such a gorgeous day, in the mid-60’s.  As we were walking around the trail, I couldn’t help but be so happy.  I told The Hubs how much I loved that we did this– so often when the weather is nice, we just go for a hike as a family.  Nothing too tough (well, sometimes I think it is, but I’m a wimp, so…) and the kids love it, and time just seems to stop for awhile.  I left my phone in the car so I didn’t get any pictures, but there was this hollowed out tree that Lilly found she could stand in perfectly, and did with a big smile on her face, and there was a creek with a path of concrete blocks passing it.  Five of them went back and forth I don’t know how many times (until someone in new shoes fell in.  I just took a deep breath, smiled, and said, “oh well!”  Its taken me many years and many children to get to the point where I don’t freak out over this stuff.  I still do sometimes, but I really try not to.  He was so upset about the fact that he was cold and wet, and that was more important.  And the shoes dried out fine.  (Thank you, Lord, for little victories! 🙂  )  At this point, we still had some time, so we brought the kids to the playground at the school of the Church where we went for confessions, and they had such a good time.  I love days like that.  This is why I can’t wait for the cold to go away!  (do you hear me, freak snowstorm coming tomorrow?  Get outta here!!)

As it turns out, our little respite from the bug was just that, a respite, because I woke up at 1:30 last night to the sound of someone else who got sick, and most unfortunatley, didn’t make it to the bathroom in time.  Thankfully, there was only a small amount on the carpet, but once I got this child cleaned up and back to bed, I spent the next half hour cleaning the bathroom and trying not to gag.  Lets just say I spent some time in conversation with God, asking if maybe some of this might make up for some of my past transgressions.  😉

So, here we are on Sunday morning, splitting up the Masses.  Physically, I’m tired, from all the cleaning and moving junk around the house and lack of sleep, but now that I’m awake (thank you, Mr. Foldgers!) I’m itching to get back to my decluttering.  This may be getting out of hand.  I was thrilled with myself last night, because after dinner I cleaned out the cabinet over the coffee maker, where we keep all the meds, vitamins, bandaids and stuff that sometimes get used daily for a period of time.  I keep most of that stuff stored in our linen closet, so I managed to clean two areas in one fell swoop, and was next to giddy.  Sad, isn’t it?  Now I’m hot to trot to get my “office” done.  There aren’t enough quotes out there to put around the word.  My “office” is a table-ish thing with two small drawers and four cubbies I’m afraid to use because someone might dump out the contents.  This is were I keep my binder and calender, the phone charger, and too many pens (until they end up all over the house and I can’t find them anywhere).  Also affectionately known as “the dumping ground.”  This is where you turn the corner and everything on the table falls to the ground.  I need to take care of it.

Alrighty, Little Einsteins is over, and I might need to feed the last one to wake up, so I’ll sign off. Hope you’ve all had a great (puke free) weekend!

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in 40 Bags in 40 Days, organizing, simple living, The Hubs, Things I've Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Musings

  1. Erin says:

    Love the pic at the top. I’d know that ivy anywhere. Great picture of the family!

Leave a Reply

