Getting there…..

38 hours until closing.

Not like I’m counting or anything.

I’ve wanted to blog about moving but I’ve hesitated about blogging about moving because I was quite certain that I was going to bore everyone to tears by blogging about moving.

Then, I remembered that one of the awesome things about having a blog is calling the shots about what goes on the blog.

So. Moving.

We can see the light at the end of the painting tunnel, but dang it all, there is so much more to do still. The kids’ bedrooms, the kids’ bath, all the downstairs, all the basement—all painted. I still need to finish the office and touch up the powder room, though, then we have to finish ALL the trim in the house and touch up a bunch of ceilings and paint the kitchen ceiling…

Sigh…

In the meantime, however, we’ve been planning out exactly what we want to do in the kitchen, and I’ve been dreaming about the rest of the house, so keeping an eye on the prize has been helpful.

Yes, we’re setting a lot of projects ahead of ourselves at the new place, but I don’t want to find myself ten years in one house again saying, “Huh. This room looks soooo much better now that it’s painted.”

And now I know just how doable it is.

Myquillin Smith, aka “The Nester”, wrote an awesome book earlier this year that has really helped me get my decorating perspective and I’m stoked to put these ideas into use. We’re not talking anything to revolutionary, just stop overthinking things and take a risk.

You know, like, paint the room. Pick a color and just do it. I might find myself as pleasantly surprised as I did this week.

I did tell The Hubs tonight that the absolute first project I want to do is painting the kids’ rooms. They’ve been so patient with our projects around here, especially because they all want to help, and we just need to get it done without having to clean up mistakes. Once we are in their rooms, we can give them more freedom with these projects.

They’ve all got plans, and I’m doing my best to give them carte blanche. We’re talking a blue underwater theme for one, multicolored stripes in another, and the third request was deep green, like a forest, with trees. I’m going to have to think about the third one a bit and see if I can come up with some suggestions on how to do it, other than painting the room a dark green as was requested. I’ll keep you posted.

Well, it looks like they’re all asleep, finally, and we’ve got one more full day before we move out. Lots to do, but it will get done. It always does. Then, carpets come in, we give the place a final cleaning, the realtor stages the place and takes pictures, and we go on the market on Friday.

And pray for a quick sale.

(sorry about the lack of pictures.  I got nuthin’.)

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

