My Whole 4

So…  guess who started a Whole 30?

I’ll give you a hint:  its the same person who ended it four days in.

Yep. This Girl!!!

Now, before you up and “oh, you fell off the bandwagon” me, do realize, I did not fall.  I jumped. With grace and aplomb, I leaped from the bandwagon, turning a double somersault Mid Air, and stuck the landing worthy of a German Olympic Gymnast.

It was rather impressive.

So, yeah, I ended on Day 4.  While a part of me really wanted to complete this challenge, a much bigger part of me said, “really?  You know you shouldn’t be eating so much sugar.  Do you have to make yourself miserable for 30 days to drive that point home?”

Apparently not.

I came to this conclusion after walking into The Hubs’ office for the 83rd time in three days (clearly a benefit of working at home – NOT) declaring that this elimination diet was for the birds, and quite frankly, I’m not a bird.  Ever the patient man with me and my crazy ideas, he just looked up at me, reassured me that I could do it and took a sip of his gin and tonic.

How I restrained myself from reaching across the desk, grabbing his drink, and chugging it like a dying man in the middle of the Sahara, I don’t know.

So, why quit, you ask?  (Ugh.  I hate the word “quit”.  It sounds so ….quit-y.)  Really, it was more of a “conscious un-depriving” of myself.  Yeah, that’s it.

1. I hated having the,”you can’t have that!” feeling hanging over my head all. the. time.  While its “only 30 days,” its a long time when the first four feel like a week and a half.

2.  Its a pain.  You have to make up a second meal plan for yourself, if everyone else in the family is eating like normal humans, which mine were.  Not to mention, is a little spendy, even if you’re not purchasing only grass fed beef that was raised on the west side of lavender farms that listened to pan flute music while they ate.  Because I didn’t.  But, I did get organic chicken and wild mushroom sausages and they were rather tasty.

3. Its another thing to do.  Lets look at this for a second, because I didn’t really think this one through when I started.  Doing the Whole 30 is a project in its truest sense, because you have to take the time to make a meal plan, take the time to really cook and prepare food that other people are not having, you have to devote mental energy to thinking about whether or not what you are about to eat is “compliant”, and then you have to look pitiful and sigh deeply when you are serving pumpkin muffins to your children for breakfast that you aren’t allowed to smell.  I’m already underwater.  I don’t need another project, I need another glass of wine. (though I do want to make some quilts for the kids’ beds while its still chilly– wouldn’t that be adorable??)

4.  I’m still nursing.  While everything I read sounded like Tommy would be fine, (and really, aren’t I supposed to be eating the way Eve would have before The Fall, minus the organic chicken and wild mushroom sausages?) I still had a nagging guilt in the back of my mind that it might adversely affect the bambino, and I really don’t want that.

5.  I’m not entirely against the idea of comfort food.  Now, I did weather a very tumultuous discipline storm one evening when, after all was said and done, I would have happily chewed through someone else’s left arm to drink a chardonnay (and I don’t even LIKE chardonnay!).  That episode actually left me a little proud of myself, knowing that I didn’t have turn to food or drink to help me get through a difficult evening.  But, once in awhile, it would be nice.

I will admit, however, that this wasn’t a complete waste of my time.  In fact, I had immediate results.  Seriously, day 1 I was prancing around, chewing on carrot sticks and declaring that I’d eat like this FOREVER if it meant that I’d always feel this good. (young, naive me).  I had more energy, a bunch of random aches and pains had vanished, I no longer felt like my brain was wearing an itchy wool sweater, my demeanor was calmer and I lost 5 pounds.  Life was good.

But, I’m not good with the “there’s no way out, no end in sight, and you can’t have ANY of what you want, at all.” feeling.  And if its going to stress me out, then its just not time.

All that being said: there is far more room in my life for the good stuff.  Fruits, veggies, meats and good nuts, and limiting sugars and carbs.  I don’t want to give them up, but they need know their place.  Over there.  Just out of arms reach, so that I have to actually work to get them, and make myself think twice as to whether or not ingesting this (fill in the blank forbidden food) is worth it.

So, how about you?  Have you done a Whole 30?  Ready to take on the world now? 😉

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Whole 4

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes on Friends, Felines, and The Plauge that Keeps Finding Us | ourlittlenuthouse

Leave a Reply

