I had such an amazing weekend this past week.

For two nights, I went away with Katie’s AHG group as an extra female chaperone to go camping and whitewater rafting.

Please note: the most important part of that sentance was the words “I. Went. Away.”

For approximatley 48 hours, I didn’t get a single meal, I didn’t run around outside yelling, “Tooooooommmmmmmyyyyyy” at the top of my lungs, or break up a single fight.  No laundry was washed, no shopping was completed or even contemplated (except for the M&M’s I picked up when we stopped for gas), and I didn’t put a single kid to bed.

Instead, I chatted with adults, had at least one meal served to me by three river guides, one of whom, thanks to his impressive red dreadlocks, looked like he could play a troll in a movie (which made the  meal extra tasty), got some excercise, sat in my tent and gazed at the stars for AGES because I could, and generally calmed the heck down.

To say I “needed that” is the understatement of the century.

Now that I’ve been back to real life for the past couple of days, I’m seeing how easy it is to fall into bad habits.  I got home late from running an errand, the kids wanted to see me, we stayed up too late watching videos on YouTube, and I didn’t get any quiet time with The Hubs last night. I realized when I got to bed that I was available 24/7 to the kids again, and without any hard stops in the schedule, Mama might end up running off and becoming a white water guide herself.

Complete with dreadlocks.

I’m not sure what to do about this.  The need to get a million things done will always be there, and the needs of  the family will be a priority, but I need to figure out planned respites for myself to let steam off the valve so that I don’t blow. Maybe its time I really commit to that early morning walk by myself, and enforce a true “quiet time” in the house.  That last one is tough, though- I’ve tried for years- but its tough to get compliance.  But I will do it.

How about you?  How do you get regular time to yourself?  What do you like to do to unwind and recharge?

About Anne McD @ourlittlenthouse

Hey! I'm a stay at home, Catholic mom of 7, former homeschooler, now public schooler. Welcome to our crazy. Please excuse the noise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

